mitchanddadATkarbach022012

We went to Karbach tonight for the Friday tour 5 p.m. – 7p.m. I had a blast with the husband and his dad.
Karbach brewery was super fun because of great crowd and atmosphere. There are lots of rooms inside this brewery which makes it interesting to go room to room and see what’s in each.
Delicious beers come out of that place. I haven’t had any lately but they aren’t brews that you forget easily. The brewery tours have changed so much from the first time I went there in the best way. I really like this brewery because they offer a dollar off admission with donations to the Houston Food Bank. It makes me happy.
The Basics:
2032 Karbach Street
Houston, TX 77092
Close to 290 West, 610 Loop and Hempstead Hwy.
Karbach Brewing Website
On their website:

Come See Us!
Cost: $7 Admission
Time: Fridays from 5PM-7PM (Tour at 6), Saturdays from Noon-3PM (Tours at 1PM and 2:15PM)

Tours of Karbach Brewing Co. are very informative and can be appreciated by the novice beer drinker as well as the skilled homebrewer. A very informal setting lets you hang out right among the tanks and take a guided tour of the brewery all while enjoying some samples along the way! Get all of those questions you’ve been dying to have answered out of the way before or after the tour. Just find a brewery employee and we’ll be more than happy to talk you through it.

Karbach Brewing Co. is centrally located right outside of the 290/610 interchange near the intersection of Mangum and Dacoma. Minutes away from the Galleria area or downtown, visiting the brewery can be a great addition to your Saturday plans!
Good to know:
  • All guests planning to sample our brews must have a valid form of identification and be 21 or older
  • Children are welcome, but must be accompanied and supervised by a guardian at ALL TIMES (kids found wandering without parent will be given espresso and a free puppy)
  • We welcome you to bring your own food/chairs but please do your best to see to it that your garbage ends up in the trash cans
  • Absolutely NO OUTSIDE ALCOHOL is permitted inside the brewery or on brewery property”

Price: It’s 7 bucks for a tour, a karbach logo glass (about the size of a juice cup) and four tokens for samples. As I mentioned in my Saint Arnold post, this price is excellent for four beers at any place you go out to have a craft beer in Houston. They accept cash and cards!

Tokens: You get 4 tokens total. One is blue and the others are red. Or at least they were tonight. The blue token is for high alcohol content beers. Mitch was told this in the line to get Pontificator. I will investigate this further one our next visit and update with confirmed information.

Shopping: They have three different kinds of glasses for purchase when you go into the brewery.

A nice set up of shirts to look over behind the table where you pay for your tour. I snapped a photo of the shirts to give an idea of what they have out. Mitch has the Hopadillo t-shirt and loves it(featured bottom right corner in the photo). My photos aren’t as pretty as I like but I’m working on it! Also I didn’t snap the photo of the dickies style brewery shirt that is awesome! They have them at almost every brewery I’ve gone to and I love that style on men. It’s delicious.

Parking: My word! Parking here is complicated and since it isn’t mentioned on the website let me clarify it a bit. There is parking in the grass just passed Karbach Street and the gas station on Dacoma Street. I came from Hempstead Highway so the parking was on my right. Karbach brewing is on the corner of Karbach and Dacoma. Alternatively, you can turn down Karbach Street and park on the side of the road. There are many driveways and gates and such. We went down Karbach and it was crowded as is the parking lot.

The Digs: Karbach is indoor/ outdoor, has air conditioning inside, tons of picnic tables outside and 2 cornhole (bean bag toss game) stations.

  • One bathroom (I mean one giant room with a toilet) inside and four port-a-potties outside. Two for girls, two for boys.
  • Bring Cash or Food! There is a food truck outside and it is delicious. I jumped on that food truck bandwagon and I love it! Food that’s delicious and portable is my style.
  • Kid friendly as it says on the brewery’s website. However, I didn’t see patrons with kids really. It seemed like a younger crowd but it was Friday night; not Saturday day time.
  • Bring your dog! These people (below) brought dogzilla! Be aware that it is crowded. If your dog doesn’t like being in crowds or has behavior issues, I would leave Sparky at home.
  • The tour is awesome, I’m sure of it. I heard over the intercom that it was starting in five minutes in some room. I couldn’t make out what the location was and frankly I was eating delicious fries from the food truck, St. John’s Fire. I got the tex- mex fries and Cajun egg roll and I felt very content to miss it. I realize this is a brewery tour review so I will be back, Karbach, to take the tour!
  • Wheel chair accessible. There is only one floor and no steps.

Karbach is super close to my house, so I’m partial to this brewery. It only has tours two days a week so it doesn’t compete with Saint Arnold’s for me for that reason alone, but two days are better than one, so I’m pleased. There is a constant line for the taps but it moves very fast, which is awesome considering how many people are out there. I love that my I can take my dog here but he occasionally likes to eat small dogs(I didn’t see a single small dog there, but you never know) so I wouldn’t bring him because it’s crowded which would put him in contact with lots of strangers and other dogs passing by.

Another gem to show off to your out-of-town friends and family to make them realize they’re suckers for not living in Houston.
Mitchell is going to follow-up with insight about the beer at the taps. His dad said that the Weekend Warrior Pale Ale was refreshing, slightly citrus-y and like picking a fresh sprig of rosemary and wafting it at your nose.